

## State of New Jersey

## **DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION**OFFICE OF THE COMMISSIONER

401 East State Street P.O. Box 420, Mail Code 401-07 Trenton, New Jersey 08625-0420 Tel. (609) 292-2885 • Fax (609) 292-7695 www.nj.gov/dep

SHAWN M. LATOURETTE

Commissioner

PHILIP D. MURPHY
Governor

SHEILA Y. OLIVER

Lt. Governor

## **ADMINISTRATIVE ORDER NO. 2023-11**

WHEREAS, in furtherance of its mission to improve and protect public health, safety, and the environment, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 13:1D-9, the Department of Environmental Protection (Department) is empowered to conduct and supervise research to determine causes, effects and hazards to the environment and its ecology, prepare and distribute scientific reports and related information, conduct research to promote ecosystem-based management, and make scientific and technical information available to other governmental entities, the Legislature, and the public;

WHEREAS, to supports its mission and many statutory obligations, the Department established and has long maintained the Division of Science and Research (Division), which provides the Department with and facilitates access to expertise and information across multiple scientific disciplines to support the Department's technical needs and inform its policy decisions;

WHEREAS, pursuant to Administrative Order No. 2009-05 (May 28, 2009), the Department established the Science Advisory Board (Board) to, at the Commissioner's request, provide independent peer review and advice on scientific and technical issues relevant to the Department's mission.

WHEREAS, the Division administers the work of the Board and its four standing committees, and serves as a liaison between the Board, and the Commissioner, Department staff, and the public;

WHEREAS, Administrative Order 2009-05 requires that the Commissioner shall appoint the members of the Board and standing committees and that such appointment shall be made by Administrative Order; and

WHEREAS, Administrative Order 2009-05 requires that each Board member shall have an advanced degree and extensive training, expertise and experience in scientific and technological fields related to the Department's mission; and

WHEREAS, Administrative Order 2009-05 requires that the members of the Board shall serve staggered terms of three years;

NOW THEREFORE, I, Shawn M. LaTourette, Commissioner of Environmental Protection, upon recommendation of the Division and in consultation with scientists from within the Department, by virtue of the authority vested in me by N.J.S.A. 13:1B-3, do hereby ORDER and DIRECT:

- 1. Notwithstanding paragraph 13 of Administrative Order No. 2009-05, which states that members of Board shall not serve on standing, ad hoc or subcommittees, the chairperson of each of the four standing committees identified in paragraph 6 of Administrative Order No. 2009-05 shall serve as members of the Board ex officio; and
- 2. The following individuals are appointed or reappointed to the Department's Science Advisory Board and its Standing Committees named Ecological Processes, Climate and Atmospheric Sciences, Public Health, and Water Quality and Quantity:

SCIENCE ADVISORY BOARD	TERM ENDING
Laumbach, Robert, Ph.D.*	May 14, 2026
Najarian, Tavit, Sc.D.*	May 14, 2026
Velinsky, David, Ph.D.*	May 14, 2026

## STANDING COMMITTEES

TERM ENDING
May 14, 2026
May 14, 2026
May 14, 2026

CLIMATE & ATMOSPHERIC SCIENCES	TERM ENDING
Hopke, Phillip, Ph.D.*	May 14, 2026

PUBLIC HEALTH	TERM ENDING
Fagliano, Jerald, M.P.H., Ph.D.*°	May 14, 2026
Gochfeld, Michael, M.D., Ph.D.*	May 14, 2026
Han, Inkyu, Ph.D. ‡	May 14, 2026

WATER QUALITY & QUANTITY	TERM ENDING
Buckley, Brian, Ph.D.*	May 14, 2026
Meng, Xiaoguang, Ph.D., P.E.*	May 14, 2026
Subramanian, Kavitha, Ph.D.*	May 14, 2026

<sup>\*</sup>Reappointment ‡New appointments

This order shall take effect immediately. Any portion of Administrative Order 2022-14 signed on June 22, 2022, and all previous Administrative Orders or portions thereof that are inconsistent with this Order are hereby superseded and repealed.

Dated: June 29, 2023

Shawn M. LaTourette Commissioner



<sup>°</sup>Chairperson of standing committee, ex officio member of the Board