

State of New Jersey

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION

OFFICE OF THE COMMISSIONER
401 East State Street
P.O. Box 402, Mail Code 401-07
Trenton, New Jersey 08625-0402
Tel. (609) 292-2885 • Fax (609) 292-7695
www.nj.gov/dep

SHAWN M. LATOURETTE

Commissioner

PHILIP D. MURPHY
Governor

TAHESHA L. WAY

Lt. Governor

ADMINISTRATIVE ORDER NO. 2024-10

WHEREAS, all residents of the State of New Jersey, regardless of income, race, ethnicity, color, or national origin, have a right to live, work, learn, and recreate in a clean and healthy environment; and

WHEREAS, as recognized by the Legislature at N.J.S.A. 13:1D-157, et seq., low-income communities and communities of color in New Jersey have been historically subjected to a disproportionately high number of environmental and public health stressors, including pollution from mobile sources, as well as numerous industrial, commercial, and governmental stationary sources; and

WHEREAS, an Environmental Justice Advisory Council (EJAC) has been established and maintained within the New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection (Department) for the purpose of advising the Department and its Commissioner on matters concerning disproportionate environmental and public health stressors, or risks of same, affecting overburdened communities, and to assist the Department in providing advice and guidance to Executive Branch departments and agencies in their considerations of environmental justice, which work is coordinated through the Department's Office of Environmental Justice (OEJ); and

WHEREAS, members of the EJAC are appointed by and serve at the pleasure of the Commissioner for terms of three years; and,

WHEREAS, there is cause to appoint or reappoint members to the EJAC;

NOW THEREFORE, I, Shawn M. LaTourette, Commissioner of Environmental Protection, pursuant to the authority of N.J.S.A. 13:1B-3 and in consultation with OEJ and existing members of EJAC, hereby ORDER AND DIRECT that:

- 1. X Braithwaite is hereby appointed to a three-year term ending on June 12, 2027, representing the statewide environmental justice or environmental advocacy organizations sector;
- 2. Jackie Park Albaum is reappointed to a three-year term ending on June 12, 2027, representing the local grassroots or community groups sector;

- 3. Jeffrey Perlman is reappointed to a three-year term ending on June 12, 2027, representing the county or municipal government or regional planning professional sector;
- 4. Nicole Brown shall fulfill the remainder of Yvette Viasus' term ending on June 12, 2025, representing the business and industry sector;
- 5. Timi Lindsay shall fulfill the remainder of Katharina Miguel's term ending on June 12, 2025, representing the local grassroots or community groups sector.

As of the date of this Order, the EJAC members and their terms are as follows:

| Member X Braithwaite | Sector Statewide Environmental Justice/ Environmental Advocacy Organizations | Term Expires June 12, 2027 |
|-------------------------|------------------------------------------------------------------------------|----------------------------|
| Jackie Park Albaum | Local Grassroots or Community Group | June 12, 2027 |
| Jeffrey Perlman | County or Municipal Government or Planning Professionals | June 12, 2027 |
| Krishna Garlic | County or Municipal Government or Planning Professionals | June 4, 2026 |
| Dr. Galia Shokry | Academia | June 12, 2026 |
| Dr. Amy Tuininga | Academia | June 12, 2026 |
| Melissa Miles | Statewide Environmental Justice/ Environmental Advocacy Organizations | June 12, 2026 |
| Andrew Kricun | Business and Industry | June 12, 2026 |
| Nicole Brown | Business and Industry | June 12, 2025 |
| Michael Morgan | Local Grassroots or Community Group | June 12, 2025 |



| Timi Lindsay | Local Grassroots or Community Group | June 12, 2025 |
|------------------------------|------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|---------------|
| Tyrese Gould-Jacinto | Faith-Based Organizations or State or Federally Recognized Tribal Government or Indigenous Groups | June 12, 2025 |
| William Casey | Statewide Social Justice/Civil Rights or Labor Organization | June 12, 2025 |
| Dr. Denalerie Johnson-Faniel | Public Health | June 12, 2025 |
| Dr. Robert Laumbach | Public Health | June 12, 2025 |

EJAC members shall serve at the pleasure of the Commissioner for a term of three years. Further, a member may serve for their term and until a successor has been appointed. A member who is appointed to fill an unexpired term shall serve for the remainder of the unexpired term only. An individual may serve more than one term.

This order shall take effect immediately.

Dated: June 12, 2024

Shawn M. LaTourette

Commisioner

