

## State of New Jersey

## DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION

OFFICE OF THE COMMISSIONER
401 East State Street
P.O. Box 402, Mail Code 401-07
Trenton, New Jersey 08625-0402
Tel. (609) 292-2885 • Fax (609) 292-7695
www.nj.gov/dep

SHAWN M. LATOURETTE

Commissioner

PHILIP D. MURPHY
Governor

SHEILA Y. OLIVER

Lt. Governor

## **ADMINISTRATIVE ORDER NO. 2023-14**

WHEREAS, pursuant to Executive Order No. 23 issued by Governor Philip D. Murphy on April 20, 2018 (EO 23), the Environmental Justice Advisory Council (EJAC), established within the New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection (Department), was continued for the purpose of advising the Department and its Commissioner on issues involving environmental justice and public health in New Jersey and for providing related guidance to Executive Branch departments and agencies as coordinated through the Office of Environmental Justice (OEJ) in the Department; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to Department Administrative Order No. 2020-02, the Commissioner shall appoint members of the EJAC who shall serve at the pleasure of the Commissioner for terms of three years;

NOW THEREFORE, I, Shawn M. LaTourette, Commissioner of Environmental Protection, pursuant to the authority of N.J.S.A. 13:1B-3 and in consultation with OEJ and existing members of EJAC, hereby ORDER AND DIRECT that:

- a. Chloe Desir is hereby appointed to a three-year term ending on June 4, 2026, representing the local grassroots or community groups sector;
- b. Terrance Bankston is hereby appointed to a three-year term ending on June 4, 2026, representing the statewide social justice/civil rights or labor organizations sector;
- c. Krishna Garlic is hereby appointed to a three-year term ending on June 4, 2026, representing the county or municipal government or planning professional sector;
- d. Dr. Galia Shokry is hereby appointed to a three-year term ending on June 4, 2026, representing the academic sector;
- e. Dr. Amy Tuininga is reappointed to a three-year term ending on June 4, 2026, representing the academic sector;
- f. Melissa Miles is reappointed to a three-year term ending on June 4, 2026, representing the statewide environmental justice or environmental advocacy organizations sector;
- g. Andrew Kricun is reappointed to a three-year term ending on June 4, 2026, representing the business and industry sector; and
- h. Vincent Mann shall fulfill the remainder of Dr. Nancy Griffeth's term ending on June 4, 2024, representing the faith-based organizations or state or federally recognized tribal government or indigenous sector.

As of the date of this Order, the EJAC members and their terms are as follows:

Member Chloe Desir	Sector Local Grassroots or Community Group	<b>Term Expires</b> June 4, 2026
Terrance Bankston	Statewide Social Justice/Civil Rights or Labor Organization	June 4, 2026
Krishna Garlic	County or Municipal Government or Planning Professionals	June 4, 2026
Dr. Galia Shokry	Academia	June 4, 2026
Dr. Amy Tuininga	Academia	June 4, 2026
Melissa Miles	Statewide Environmental Justice/ Environmental Advocacy Organizations	June 4, 2026
Andrew Kricun	Business and Industry	June 4, 2026
Yvette Viasus	Business and Industry	June 4, 2025
Michael Morgan	Local Grassroots or Community Group	June 4, 2025
Katharine Miguel	Local Grassroots or Community Group	June 4, 2025
Tyrese Gould-Jacinto	Faith-Based Organizations or State or Federally Recognized Tribal Government or Indigenous Groups	June 4, 2025
William Casey	Statewide Social Justice/Civil Rights or Labor Organization	June 4, 2025
Dr. Denalerie Johnson-Faniel	Public Health	June 4, 2025
Dr. Robert Laumbach	Public Health	June 4, 2025
Kim Thompson-Gaddy	Statewide Environmental Justice/ Environmental Advocacy Organizations	June 4, 2024



Jackie Park Albaum Local Grassroots or June 4, 2024

**Community Group** 

Jeffrey Perlman County or Municipal June 4, 2024

Government or Planning

**Professionals** 

Vincent Mann Faith-Based Organizations or June 4, 2024

State or Federally Recognized

Tribal Government or Indigenous Groups

Pursuant to Administrative Order 2022-02, EJAC members shall serve at the pleasure of the Commissioner for a term of three years. Further, a member may serve for their term and until a successor has been appointed. A member who is appointed to fill an unexpired term shall serve for the remainder of the unexpired term only. An individual may serve more than one term.

This order shall take effect immediately.

Dated: July 24, 2023
Shawn M. LaTourette

Commissioner

