

State of New Jersey

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION

OFFICE OF THE COMMISSIONER
401 East State Street
P.O. Box 402, Mail Code 401-07
Trenton, New Jersey 08625-0402
Tel. (609) 292-2885 • Fax (609) 292-7695
www.nj.gov/dep

SHAWN M. LATOURETTE

Commissioner

PHILIP D. MURPHY
Governor

SHEILA Y. OLIVER

Lt. Governor

ADMINISTRATIVE ORDER NO. 2022-13

I, Shawn M. LaTourette, Commissioner of the Department of Environmental Protection (Department), pursuant to the authority of N.J.S.A. 13:1B-3 and Executive Order No. 23 issued by Governor Philip D. Murphy on April 20, 2018 (EO 23), in accordance with Administrative Order No. 2020-02 signed on February 3, 2020, and in consultation with the members of the Environmental Justice Advisory Council (EJAC) hereby appoint the following individuals to serve as members of the EJAC, which is responsible for evaluating and making recommendations to the Commissioner and the Department on matters relating to environmental justice in New Jersey and for coordinating with the Department, through its Office of Environmental Justice, in providing advice and guidance to Executive Branch departments and agencies pursuant EO 23:

The following EJAC members are newly appointed to three-year terms that shall commence on June 4, 2022.

- Local grassroots or community groups:
 - o **Michael Morgan,** Co-Chair of the Air Quality workgroup of Camden Collaborative Initiative
 - o **Katharina Miguel,** Clean Energy Advocate from Isles, Inc.
- State or Federally recognized tribal governments or indigenous groups:
 - o **Tyrese Gould-Jacinto,** President and CEO of Native American Advancement Corp.
- Statewide social justice/civil rights or labor organization:
 - o **William Casey,** Vice President of NAACP Metuchen-Edison Area Branch Chapter, Committee Member on Environmental Justice Committee
- Public health:
 - o **Denalerie Johnson-Faniel,** Director of Equity and Inclusion at University Hospital
 - o **Robert Laumbach,** Associate Professor, Department of Environmental and Occupational Health and Justice, Rutgers School of Public Health
- Business or industry:
 - o Yvette Viasus, Community Solar Specialist at Solar Landscape
 - o Charlotte Colón Alvarez, Project Administrator of Suburban Consulting Engineers



As of the date of this order, the existing EJAC members and their terms are as follows:

Member	Representation	Term Expiration
Joann Held	Local Grassroots or Community Group	June 4, 2023
Andrew Kricun	Statewide Environmental Justice/	June 4, 2023
	Environmental Advocacy Organizations	
Melissa Miles	Statewide Environmental Justice/	June 4, 2023
	Environmental Advocacy Organizations	
Phyllis Reich	Municipal/County Government	June 4, 2023
Meredith Taylor	Academia	June 4, 2023
Dr. Amy Tuininga	Academia	June 4, 2023
Jackie Park Albaum	Local Grassroots or Community Group	June 4, 2024
Jeffrey Perlman	Planning	June 4, 2024
Dr. Nancy Griffeth	Faith-based	June 4, 2024
Kim Thompson-Gaddy	Statewide Environmental Justice/	June 4, 2024
	Environmental Advocacy Organizations	

As provided in Administrative Order 2022-02, EJAC members shall serve at the pleasure of the Commissioner for a term of three years. Each member may serve for their term and until a successor has been appointed. A member who is appointed to fill an unexpired term shall serve for the remainder of the unexpired term only. An individual may serve more than one term.

This order shall take effect immediately. Any portion of all previous Administrative Orders or portions thereof, including AO 2020-08 signed on June 4, 2020, that are inconsistent with this Order are hereby superseded and repealed.

Date: May 31, 2022

Shawn M. LaTourette Commissioner