

NJ DEP Division of Fish and Wildlife Black Bear Management Zone Boundary Descriptions

Zone 1: That portion of Warren and Sussex Counties lying within a continuous line beginning at the intersection of the Portland Bridge and the Delaware River at Columbia; then northward along the east bank of the Delaware River to the New York State Line; then east along the New York State Line to Rt. 519; then south along Rt. 519 to its intersection with Rt. 627; then south along Rt. 627 to its intersection with Rt. 626; then south along Rt. 626 to its intersection with Rt. 521; then southwest along Rt. 521 to its intersection with Rt. 94 in Blairstown; then southwest along Rt. 94 to the Portland Bridge, the point of beginning in Columbia. The islands of Labar, Tocks, Poxono, Depew, Namanock, Minisink and Mashipacong lying in the Delaware River are also included within this Hunting Area.

Zone 2: That portion of Sussex, Warren and Morris Counties lying within a continuous line beginning at Portland Bridge in Columbia; then northward along Rt. 94 to its intersection with Rt. 521 in Blairstown; then north along Rt. 521 to its intersection with Rt. 626; then north along Rt. 626 to its intersection with Rt. 627; then north along Rt. 627 to its intersection with Rt. 519 in Branchville; then north along Rt. 519 to the New York State Line; then southeast along the New York State line to Rt. 517; then south along Rt. 517 to its intersection with Rt. 94; then south on Rt. 94 to its intersection with Rt. 517 in Franklin; then south along Rt. 517 to its intersection with Rt. 15 in Sparta; then south along Rt. 15 to its intersection with Rt. 94; then south along Rt. 94 to its intersection with Rt. 94; then south along Rt. 517 to its intersection with Rt. 94; then south on Rt. 94 to its intersection with Rt. 94; then south along Rt. 517 in Franklin; then south along Rt. 517 to its intersection with Rt. 15 in Sparta; then south along Rt. 15 to its intersection with Rt. 94; then west along interstate 80 to its intersection with Rt. 94; then south along Rt. 94 to the intersection with the Portland Bridge and the Delaware River located in Columbia, the point of beginning.

Zone 3: That portion of Sussex, Passaic, Morris, and Bergen Counties lying within a continuous line beginning at the intersection of Rt. 80 and Rt. 15 in Dover; then north along Rt. 15 to its intersection with Rt. 517 in Sparta; then north along Rt. 517 to its intersection with Rt. 23 in Franklin; then north along Rt. 23 to its intersection with Rt. 94 in Hamburg Borough; then north along Rt. 94 to its intersection with Rt. 517; then north along Rt. 517 to the New York State Line; then east along the New York State Line to its intersection with Rt. 287; then south along Rt. 287 to its intersection with Rt. 80; then west along Rt. 80 to its intersection with Rt. 15 the point of beginning in Dover.

Zone 4: That portion of Sussex, Warren, Morris, Somerset and Hunterdon Counties lying within a continuous line beginning at the intersection of Route 78 and the Delaware River; then north along the east bank of the Delaware River to the Portland Bridge at Columbia; then northeast along Rt. 94 to its intersection with Rt. 80; then east along Rt. 80 to its intersection with Rt. 287; then southwest along Rt. 287 to its intersection with Rt. 78; then west along Rt. 78 to the Delaware River the point of beginning.

Zone 5: That portion of Hunterdon, Mercer, Morris, Passaic, Somerset, and Warren

Counties lying within a continuous line beginning at the intersection of Rt. 78 and the Delaware River; then east along Rt. 78 to its intersection with Rt. 287; then northeast along Rt. 287 to its intersection with Rt. 202 in Oakland; then south along Rt. 202 to its intersection with Rt. 23; then south along Rt. 23 to its intersection with Rt. 80; then west along Rt. 80 to its intersection with the Passaic River; then west along the north bank of the Passaic River to its intersection with Rt. 80; then west on Rt. 80 to its intersection with Rt. 280 to its intersection with Rt. 80; then west on Rt. 80 to its intersection with Rt. 280; then south along Rt. 280 to its intersection with Rt. 632; then south along Rt. 632 to its intersection with Rt. 608; then south along Rt. 638 to its intersection with Rt. 124; then southeast along Rt. 124 to its intersection with Rt. 638; then south along Rt. 531 to its intersection with Rt. 527; then south along Rt. 527 to its intersection with Rt. 533; then south along Rt. 533 to its intersection with Rt. 206; then south along Rt. 206 to its intersection with Rt. 518; then west along Rt. 518 to its intersection with Rt. 165; then west along Rt. 165 to its intersection with Rt. 179; then west along Rt. 179 to the Delaware River; then north along the east bank of the Delaware River to its intersection with Rt. 78, the point of beginning.

Zone 6: That portion of Bergen, Essex, Hudson, Middlesex, Morris, Passaic, Somerset, and Union Counties lying within a continuous line beginning at the intersection of Rt. 287 and the New York state line; then southeast along the New York state line to the Hudson River; then south along the west shore of the Hudson River to Upper New York Bay; then south along the shore of Upper New York Bay to the Kill Van Kull; then west along the north shore of the Kill Van Kull to Newark Bay; then west across Newark Bay to its confluence with the Arthur Kill; then south along the west shore of the Arthur Kill to its intersection with Route 440; then west along Route 440 to its intersection with Route 287; then west along Route 287 to its intersection with Rt. 533; then north along Rt. 533 to its intersection with Rt. 527; then north along Rt. 527 to its intersection with Rt. 531; then north along Rt. 531 to its intersection with Rt. 638; then north along Rt. 638 to its intersection with Rt. 124; then northwest along Rt. 124 to its intersection with Rt. 608; then north along Rt. 608 to its intersection with Rt. 632; then north along Rt. 632 to its intersection with Rt. 280; then northwest along Rt. 280 to its intersection with Rt. 80; then east along Rt. 80 to its intersection with the Passaic River; then east along the north bank of the Passaic River to its intersection with Rt. 80; then east along Rt. 80 to its intersection with Rt. 23; then north along Rt. 23 to its intersection with Rt. 202; then north along Rt. 202 to its intersection with Rt. 287; then north along Rt. 287 to its intersection with the New York state line, the point of beginning.

Zone 7: That portion of Atlantic, Burlington, Camden, Cape May, Cumberland, Gloucester, Hunterdon, Mercer, Middlesex, Monmouth, Ocean, Salem, and Somerset Counties lying within a continuous line beginning at the intersection of Rt. 179 and the Delaware River; then east along Rt. 179 to its intersection with Rt. 165; then east along Rt. 165 to its intersection with Rt. 518; then east along Rt. 518 to its intersection with Rt. 206; then north along Rt. 206 to its intersection with Rt. 533; then north along Rt. 333 to its intersection with Rt. 287; then east along Rt. 287 to its intersection with Rt. 440; then east along Rt. 440 to its intersection with the Arthur Kill at Perth Amboy; then south along the west shore

of the Arthur Kill to Raritan Bay, then south and east along the shore of Raritan Bay to Sandy Hook; then north along the east shore of Sandy Hook Bay to the tip of Sandy Hook; then south along the Atlantic Ocean to the Delaware Bay shore; then north and west along the shore of Delaware Bay to its intersection with the Delaware River; then north along the east bank of the Delaware River to its intersection with Rt. 179, the point of beginning.